Announcement: VIP Membership Available - Awesome features and special perks - Click here.
Register and surf ADS free. This accelerates page loading, eliminates annoyance and distraction and ... You get a faster Internet connection without annoying banner advertising! ...

Your Ad Here

Go Back   Final4Ever Forums > ஜ..:: ATTENTION ::..ஜ > Announcements
Announcements Site News Update, Important Info

Reply Post New Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Host your own phpBB Forum For FREE
  #1  
Old 7th July 2007, 20:39
aabee aabee is offline
Final4Ever Guru
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,815
Thanks: 10
Thanked 144 Times in 120 Posts
Default MPAA's Media Defender sets up 'fake' site to catch pirates

Don't get caught up in the Motion Picture Association of America's (MPAA) latest sting. Media Defender, a company which does the dirty work for the MPAA, has been caught setting up 'dummy' websites in an attempt to catch those who download copyrighted videos - entrapment comes to mind.

The site, MiiVi.com, complete with a user registration, forum, and "family filter", offers complete downloads of movies and "fast and easy video downloading all in one great site." But that's not all; MiiVi also offers client software to speed up the downloading process. The only catch is, after it's installed, it searches your computer for other copyrighted files and reports back.

ZeroPaid, acting on a tip from The Pirate Bay, found MiiVi to be registered to Media Defender using a whois search. Shortly after, the registrar information was changed, but the address still reflects Media Defender's address at 2461 Santa Monica Blvd., D-520 Santa Monica, CA 90404.

Not 10 hours after the site was found to be registered to Media Defender, the site went dead. There's no telling how long it was up; however, the domain was registered on February 8, 2007.

Perhaps Media Defender won't use its own name on the registrar the next time around, but it just goes to show the lengths at which the MPAA is willing to go, to fight piracy.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th July 2007, 19:18
DJLEE13 DJLEE13 is offline
Probably Spamming
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 29
Thanks: 682
Thanked 26 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Good Lookin Out. That information is very useful.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd July 2007, 08:09
McGee77 McGee77 is offline
Rolling on
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Good thing I rarely download movies...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd July 2007, 22:27
blowfish blowfish is offline
Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 50
Thanks: 51
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

good looking out. Is this really true? Freaking scary.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd July 2007, 20:35
Dalonehunter Dalonehunter is offline
Warming Up
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 47
My Mood:
Thanks: 3
Thanked 30 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Damn, that's crazy. Then they get caught and shut down. Cool.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th July 2007, 23:48
kingthump kingthump is offline
Leecher
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanx for the warning...and although I never download movies, I'm sure they are still after those that download music also.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30th July 2007, 20:21
moallem moallem is offline
Probably Spamming
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 24
Thanks: 93
Thanked 6 Times in 2 Posts
Default ok

merci mon ami
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th April 2008, 20:36
Shentally Shentally is offline
Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 67
My Mood:
Thanks: 245
Thanked 102 Times in 8 Posts
Default

I only ever use trusted torrent sites and always check to see what tracker is being used. Although I will d/l a movie once in a while I usually only d/l TV shows from other countries.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4th April 2008, 23:48
finger finger is offline
Warming Up
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 31
Thanks: 44
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Theyre getting desperate. Isnt entrapment illegal ?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th May 2008, 00:00
Str8_freak Str8_freak is offline
Leecher
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 19
Thanks: 27
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Wow!!! i pretty much suspected that! thats probably y all those Watchmoviesonline site been poppin up lately!. Is anything safe anymore pm me that answer.
Reply With Quote
Post New Thread Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Your Ad Here
All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:02.


Powered by: Final4Ever Forums
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Final4Ever.com  |   Final4Ever.co.uk  |   F4E.info  |   Image Hosting  |   Movies  |   


Your link here PR4+ Full Versions PremiumW TheFreeAdForum.com!
EasyDDL DreamDDL Infinite Warez Argetohu.Com

Sitemap
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323